2023 4-H Alberta Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

2023 4-H Alberta Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

CALGARY, AB – 4-H Alberta proudly announces the induction of Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier and Christine Patten into the 4-H Alberta Hall of Fame for 2023. This prestigious recognition honours individuals for their exceptional contributions and leadership within the 4-H program in Alberta.

The 4-H Alberta Hall of Fame is an esteemed acknowledgment celebrating Albertans who have demonstrated exceptional contributions to the 4-H program as volunteers. These individuals are recognized for their outstanding leadership and significant impact on 4-H youth and leaders. Since its inception in 1971 by Premier Lougheed, the Hall of Fame has been a testament to the dedication and achievements of its inductees.

Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier is celebrated for her remarkable leadership within the 4-H Alberta program. Over the years, Rhonda has dedicated countless hours to enhancing the skills and abilities of both members and leaders. Known for her innate ability to identify and nurture potential, Rhonda has been instrumental in encouraging individuals to excel in unfamiliar roles. Her unwavering passion for the 4-H program has left a lasting impact on the Peace region and the province, where she has been a beloved figure for many years. Rhonda’s journey with 4-H began in her childhood, and she has since devoted her life to volunteering for a program that she holds dear.

Christine Patten has made her mark as a Leader, Key Leader, and District Representative and has assumed numerous leadership positions within the West Central region. She is renowned for her deep love and mentorship of 4-H members and exemplifies an exceptional ability to connect with youth. Known for her presence at numerous events, Christine is a familiar face at Communication Events and Achievement Days, supporting as many youths as possible. For those seeking straightforward answers to 4-H queries, Christine is the go-to expert, celebrated for her knowledge and dedication.

Christine Suominem, 4-H Alberta Board Chair, expressed her enthusiasm for this year’s inductees, stating, “The 4-H Alberta Board of Directors is thrilled to acknowledge these candidates and their significant contributions to the 4-H community. They are both long-time leaders in our organization and have demonstrated such a deep commitment to improving programs locally and across the province. These women are beyond qualified to be inductees into the 4-H Alberta Hall of Fame!”

The inductees exemplify the 4-H motto of “Learn to Do by Doing” through their outstanding leadership and embody the 4-H pledge of service and commitment at all organizational levels, including club, community, country, and world.

An awards ceremony to honour the 2023 inductees is scheduled for November 2024 at the 4-H Centre. This event will not only celebrate the achievements of Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier and Christine Patten but will also highlight their significant contributions to the 4-H program and its enduring legacy in Alberta.

Media Contact

Shane Guiltner
Director, Marketing Communications & Technology
4-H Alberta
(403) 862-7105